Homedale Driver Education

Did you know . . . 

  • Nearly 1 in 4 Idaho crashes involve a teen driver
  • 37 Idaho teen drivers were involved in fatal crashes last year
  • Idaho teen drivers are nearly 3 times as likely to be involved in a crash than any other age group
  • Less than half of Idaho teens take Driver Education
  • Participation in Driver Education classes has proven to reduce the number of crashes and deaths involving teen drivers
  • Is your student ready for Driver Education?

Driver's Education:


Driver's Ed Session 2
Online registration--Thursday, October 31 at 8:00am
Parent meeting-- Wednesday, November 6
Class begins-- Friday, November 8, 8:00 am


2019/2020 Driver's Ed Schedule

Subject to Change-Behind the Wheel schedule-TBD

Class Sessions: 1-2-3-Friday-Saturday-Sunday-8:00-11:20 am.  State law requires 30 hours of class time.

Session 2- November 8th-November 24th, 2019

Session 3- January 24th-February 9th, 2020

Session 4- May 27th-June 12th, 2020 --Class Times TBD


Costs for DE:
**$180.00-pay at district office
**$21.50-Permit from DMV-must have on or before 8/30. 


All driver ed students will need the Idaho Driver's Manual for class. It is free from the DMV.  

 

Permit Cost: $21.50 to be paid to DMV prior to class starting

You will need these documents to purchase a permit:

1. Certified Original Birth Certificates (available from the Bureau of Vital Statistics)

2. Acceptable photo identification

3. Social Security Card or Number for verification

4. Proof of Idaho Residency

5. Liability Signer (if under 18)     must be birth parent or court-ordered guardian

6. Verification of School Compliance (VOC) from school office (secretary)

7. Pass a vision test


All students, 14 1/2 – 21 years of age, living in a public school district that offers driver education, are eligible to enroll whether they attend a public school, charter school, private school, or are home schooled (Idaho Code §33-1703).

If you are eligible for Driver Education, you must:

1. Contact your local high school to enroll in either a traditional or online program.

2. Purchase a driver education permit at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The permit must be purchased before the student participates in any instruction. You will need these documents to purchase a permit:

  • Birth Certificate

  • Social Security Card

  • Proof of Residency

  • Picture Identification

  • Verification of Compliance Form

    • Retrieve from your high school administrative office

3. Complete 30 hours of classroom instruction or work time, 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction, and 6 hours of active back seat observation (ID Code §33-1702(2)).


A parent or legal guardian must accompany you to the DMV.


http://www.theparentssuperviseddrivingprogram.com/